Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad [IPL 2016 Match 52 |20 May 2016] Match Highlights

The fortunes for Delhi Daredevils have changed for better in the 2016 VIVO IPL, considering the terrible run of form that they had since IPL 2013 until IPL 2015 – unable to win 3 games on a trot which is a good reflection into the inconsistency that they suffered which put them at the bottom of the table across the 3 season. This IPL comes as a good change to the Delhi Daredevils unit with Dravid as their coach and Zaheer Khan as captain – however they’ve had a few losses in the last few matches and their match against Sunrisers Hyderabad became a must win to have any chance of qualifying for the playoffs.

Delhi Daredevils vs  Sunrisers Hyderabad
Date 20 May 2016
Venue Rajkumar College Ground
161/4 (20)    158/7 (20)
Delhi Daredevils won by 6 wickets

The strategy for Delhi has been to make rigorous changes to the unit and play the team that suits the conditions the best and therefore across the 13 matches that they’ve played, each match they’ve made some changes – no unchanged unit for 2 consecutive matches in IPL 2016 for them.

Delhi Daredevils won the toss and opted to chase. They made 2 changes – Morris out Brathwaite IN and Negi IN Iyer OUT. Warner made two changes to Hyderabad bringing IN Sran for injured Nehra and Morgan for sick Cutting.

The top run scorer list is topped by Kohli followed by David Warner and what perhaps makes Warner’s contribution so significant is the fact that apart from him, his side truly lacks any formidable foreign player which RCB does has.

It was yet again a Warner show for Hyderabad, with their captain making 73 in 56 balls that included 8 fours and 1 six. Rest of the team had starts but none of them were able to convert them into big totals or even a 30+. 18 from Henriques, 14 from Morgan and 16 from Ojha consolidated to taking Hyderabad’s total to 158 for 7 in 20 overs.

Zaheer Khan – Delhi’s captain was again impressive with the ball, giving away only 26 runs in his quota of 4 overs. Brathwaite too made a good comeback, grabbing 2 wickets for 27 runs in his 4 overs.

Having 159 in front to chase, Delhi boys had massive pressure on their shoulders with this being a must win game, they needed someone from the top to anchor the innings and guide them to victory. Unfortunately their foreign talent in De Kock did not click and his inconsistent IPL continued, managing only 2 runs – apart from his century against the RCB, De Kock has had a very average IPL by his standards.

Pant was again sent to open with De Kock and he converted his start to a 26 ball 32 before getting run out. Delhi Daredevils were in desperate need for a top order batsman to stay IN and make the most of being settled out there and take advantage of the match situation – mind you, the Raipur stadium has long boundaries and settled batsmen need to score runs in quick singles and doubles as boundaries are hard to come by.

The player who came in front and took the responsibility of guiding Delhi par the winning line was Karun Nair – who had shown bits and pieces of his talent in the season so far but none as conclusive as this innings from him. 83 in 59 balls is extraordinary in any match and more so in the context of this match wherein the pressure to win was immense.

The last over required Delhi Daredevils to score 11 runs and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was the bowler – the first 4 balls of the over did not go for any boundary but Nair made the most of the last 2 deliveries, ensuring that the took his side to the victory.

Delhi Daredevils survive another match and give them another shot at making the playoffs – their match against RCB on Sunday is must win to qualify for playoffs, it’s a do and die for both the teams, get set for an epic encounter.

DD vs SRH Squads for 20 May 2016 Match 52

Delhi Daredevils

Zaheer Khan (C), Mayank Agarwal, Khaleel Ahmed, Sam Billings, Carlos Brathwaite, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton de Kock (W), JP Duminy, Akhil Herwadkar, Imran Tahir, Shreyas Iyer, Mahipal Lomror, Chama Milind, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris, Shahbaz Nadeem, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Rishabh Pant, Pratyush Singh, Sanju Samson, Pawan Suyal, Jayant Yadav

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner (C), Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Trent Boult, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Eoin Morgan, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (W), Vijay Shankar, Karn Sharma, Barinder Sran, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh

DD vs SRH Video Preview

[button color=”” size=”large” type=”” target=”” link=””%5DTap Here for all IPL 2016 Match Highlights[/button]

Leave a Reply