ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Schedule, Tickets, Squad

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is being organized by International Cricket Council. Champions Trophy 2017 One Day International cricket tournament will be held in England and Wales. The top 8 sides in ODI rankings have qualified to participate in ICC CT 2017 and divided into two groups. Group A countries include Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand. Group B cricket team countries have India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka. Know here all about ICC Champions Trophy 2017 including schedule, fixtures, venue, teams, squads.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC CT 2017 number of matches:- There will be 15 matches in all. Each group will have six (6) matches each, thus twelve (12) matches in Group Stage. Followed by two semifinal matches, and one final match.

What is Champions Trophy?

With the array of tournaments held in the sport of cricket across the 365 days, we can understand there ought to be some confusion with regard to what tournament is which and what history does it behold with itself. Worry not, we’ll tell you all about this knock-out structured tournament in the sport of cricket.

Qualified Teams

Group A Group B
Australia India
Bangladesh Pakistan
England South Africa
New Zealand Sri Lanka

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups are A and B, with four teams each.

According to some, champions trophy holds greater weightage compared to the Cricket World Cup. In Cricket World Cup there are 12-14 teams in groups of 2.

Champions Trophy in this regard is different. It only has the 8 best teams that qualify almost a year prior to the actual date of the tournament. On the cut off date (deadline), whichever 8 teams are in top 8 positions in ODI rankings are in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Qualified Teams.

Let us take an example. Say that 29th September 2016 is the cut off date. On that date, Country X is 8th in rankings, so it qualifies for Champions Trophy. Should Country X be taken over by Country Y on 6th of January, 2017 – 6 months prior to the Champions Trophy, Country Y will still not qualify as the deadline for the rankings would be over.

Venues for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Champions Trophy 2017 Host country:-  Known as the home of cricket, England – will be the host for the 2017 edition of the tournament. In fact, England is hosting the tournament on a trot, as it was the host for the same in 2013.

There are 3 primary venues for the matches:-

  • Kennington Oval, London
  • Edgbaston, Birmingham
  • Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

The maximum capacity amongst the 3 is with The Oval that can hold 26,000 spectators at once, followed by 23,500 by Edgbaston and 15,000 by Sophia Gardens.

ICC Champions Trophy Schedule 2017

Champions Trophy 2017 Schedule detailing fixtures can be seen here.

Opening of ticket ballot for CT 2017 September 1, 2016
Closing of ticket ballot September 30, 2016
Tickets available for general sale since end of October 2016
Matches June 1 to 18, 2017

Champions Trophy 2017 Tickets

Interested cricket fans can but tickets for the 8th ICC Champions Trophy 2017 England & Wales.

Initially ICC had opened the ticket ballot for CT 2017 in the month of September. Applicants are informed about success of applications and payment done for purchase of tickets.

Remaining tickets are on general sale as per schedule.

To buy ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Tickets, click here.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Promo

source: YT / ICC

Why was Champions Trophy introduced?

In other words, what was the need of CT when CWC existed?

The interest that Champions Trophy generates is immense. This is primarily due to its format of locking horns between 8 best teams in world cricket.

Just like a World Cup, Champions Trophy moves across the cricketing circuit and is held in a different country after every 3-4 years (depending upon the tour programming of teams by ICC).

Champions Trophy – A History

ICC had hoped to get in plans the layout for a test tournament that will promote test cricket across cricketing nations and generate interest in this long format amongt players and fans. Hence the 2013 edition of ICC Champions Trophy was supposed to be the last one.

Popularity of Champions Trophy is attributed to wonderful cricket performances by all the 8 cricketing sides.

Last year’s final between England and India was absolutely riveting.

Remember the CT final match 2013 in which India came overcame a sticky situation?

England required 18 runs with 5 wickets in hand. India saw an opportunity lying with England looking in tatters against spin and Ashwin scripted a historic win to bundle off England before they reached the remaining 18 runs.

Thus, ICC decided to refrain itself from scrapping the champions trophy and scrapped the idea for a test tournament instead.

All in all, there’s much to anticipate about the Champions Trophy 2017 – it promises to be a thrilling contest between the best 8 in cricket; you can’t afford to miss this champions galore.

Leave a Reply