IPL 2016 is scheduled from 9 April 2016 to 29 May 2016. The title sponsor of IPL is Vivo Electronics, thus the league is officially known as the Vivo Indian Premier League 2016.

Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested annually by franchise teams representing Indian cities. The league, founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) member Lalit Modi in 2007. Its first tournament was played in year 2008.

Till date most successful teams are Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders. Suresh Raina has made maximum number of runs (3699) and Lasith Malinga has taken most wickets (143)

IPL 9 Quick Links

IPL Format

Eight eight teams play the match. Each team plays each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin tournament. At the conclusion of the league stage, the top four teams qualify for the finals. The top two teams play each other in the first preliminary round match, with the winner going straight to the final while the loser goes on to the second preliminary round. The third and fourth place teams play each other to decide who will take on the loser from the first preliminary round match. The winner of the second preliminary round match will move onto the final where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply