Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils [IPL 2016 Match 36 |07 May 2016] Match Highlights

A side that has looked desperate for some wins under their belt has been Kings XI Punjab, who has made some rigorous changes to their line-up to get into the winnings ways – from changing their captain to getting in foreign replacements; they’ve made possible moves to achieve success in IPL 2016.

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils
Date 07 May 2016
Venue Punjab Cricket Association Stadium
181/5 (20)   172/5 (20)
Kings XI won by 9 runs

In 36th match of the season, Kings XI faced the Delhi Daredevils – a side that has relied on a strong composition between domestic and foreign talent to secure wins against teams that have immense individual talents but that isn’t translating into a strong unit.

Daredevils won the toss and opted to bowl, returning to the side was their captain Zaheer Khan along with inclusion of Quinton De Kock, Nadeem and Morris. JP Duminy, Jayant and Imran Tahir were put on the bench. Kings XI made only one change – getting IN Amla for Vohra (they played only 3 foreign players in their last game).

The foreign talent in the Kings XI Punjab team in Stoinis has really been the only positive highlight for them this season, specifically in terms of foreign players- with Miller and Maxwell having a rather quite season.

Stoinis yet again shined with the bat, making a 52 off 44 balls; looking in relative ease by playing the big shots matched with quick singles. Vijay had another quite turnout, making 25 in 16.

Kings XI added Amla to their squad but it wasn’t to be one of those glorious IPL starts –wherein the foreign star starts making amends from ball one. Amla got out to a silly run-out (having been saved of a run-out just a ball before).

Kings XI’s hope of getting to a score above par was strengthened by Saha’s 52 in 33 balls. Punjab would’ve got to a total beyond 190 had Maxwell and Miller clicked – managing only 16 off 11 and 11 off 6 respectively. Punjab’s final score was 181.

Daredevils’s got De Kock back in the side and made him open the batting with Sanju Samson, in spite of De Kock showing great rapport with Rishant Pant (who smashed 68 in the last match they opened together). Pant was demoted in the batting order.

De Kock proved that his presence in the Daredevils side is crucial to get off to a good start as it was yet again another crucial fifty at the top for De Kock. His new opening partner in Sanju Samson was initially struggling to get going at a good strike rate but it improved a bit during the latter part of his innings, making 49 in 35 deliveries – perhaps overall rather on the slow side in a chase of over 9 runs to the over.

In 36 balls, Delhi Daredevils required above 50 runs but with Brathwaite yet to come, followed by Morris and Pant – it seemed that Delhi Daredevils were heading towards a win.

It was however incredibly disciplined bowling from the 2 Sharma’s in Mohit Sharma and Sandeep Sharma who pulled back the match in favor of their side.

After Brathwaite smashing Sandeep Sharma off to leg side for a six, Sandeep kept his composure and got Brathwaite out at the leg-side boundary, they inched closer to victory but one man still in their way was Morris.

Morris however found it tough to get going, managing 17 in 12 balls – hitting just 1 six in span of 12 deliveries. Daredevils required 25 in the last over which was always going to be a tough ask off Sandeep Sharma’s bowling and with Mohit Sharma bowling an amazing 19th over; the pressure on Daredevils was very much visible.

Daredevils only got 15 in the last over and Punjab secured a much needed win, their 3rd in 9 matches. Daredevils are 5 wins in 9 matches, helping them retain their 3rd spot in the points table.

KXIP vs DD Squads for 07 May 2016 Match 36

Kings XI Punjab

Murali Vijay (C), David Miller, Kyle Abbott, Anureet Singh, Armaan Jaffer, Farhaan Behardien, KC Cariappa, Rishi Dhawan, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Nikhil Naik, Axar Patel, Wriddhiman Saha (W), Pradeep Sahu, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, Swapnil Singh, Shardul Thakur, Manan Vohra, Hashim Amla

Delhi Daredevils

Zaheer Khan (C), Mayank Agarwal, Khaleel Ahmed, Sam Billings, Carlos Brathwaite, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton de Kock (W), JP Duminy, Akhil Herwadkar, Imran Tahir, Shreyas Iyer, Mahipal Lomror, Chama Milind, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris, Shahbaz Nadeem, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Rishabh Pant, Pratyush Singh, Sanju Samson, Pawan Suyal, Jayant Yadav

KXIP vs DD Recap

[button color=”” size=”large” type=”” target=”” link=””%5DTap Here for all IPL 2016 Match Highlights[/button]

Leave a Reply