Kings XI vs Sunrisers [IPL 2016 Match 18 |23 Apr 2016] Match Highlights

After a disastrous start to their IPL 2016 campaign, Kings XI Punjab’s game against Sunrisers Hyderabad was extremely vital for them to change things around – for they needed a win badly to get into the winning ways.

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Date 23 Apr 2016
Venue Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
143/6 (20)   146/5 (17.5)
Sunrisers won by 5 wickets

SRH won the toss and opted to bowl first, no change in playing XI

The Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opted to bowl first. They remained unchanged for the match and why not! After winning their last match by 10 wickets; any change really wasn’t necessary unless forced to any injuries (which wasn’t the case). Kings XI Punjab however did made 2 changes (rightly so, their balance just isn’t working), Nikhil Naik came in for Rishi Dhawan and Pardeep Sahu for Wriddhiman Shah.

KXIP first wicket went down in 3rd over, and Vohra run out

The Kings XI Punjab lost their first blood in the 3rd over to a beautiful outswinger from Bhuvanesh Kumar –grabbing the outside edge of Murali Vijay. Vohra did look good at the pitch though, hitting few lusty boundaries but his end came because of a silly run out, hitting to cover and running for a single which really wasn’t there.

Miller and Maxwell wicket taken by Moises Henriques

Moises Henriques hurt Kings XI further, grabbing 2 key wickets of Miller and Maxwell – the 2 M’s that can change the course of the match but have been rather quite in IPL 2016, a major reason for Punjab’s abject failure in the tournament thus far.

Naik and Patel share a partnership of 50, KXIP close at 143/6

The debutant Naik along with Axar Patel got the innings back on track by sharing a partnership of 50 for the sixth wicket. Axar Patel hit 3 sixes and the power with which he was able to clear the boundary was quite impressive. Mustafizur though with his variations put breaks on the partnership which pulled their score back to 143 – even though they did look at one stage that they’ll get to over 150 and with the kind of form that Warner is in, 143 was quite a modest total.

SRH raced to 65 in 6 overs

The Sunrisers Hyderabad in their revert started from where they left off against Gujarat. The required run rate was well in control for the Sunrisers Hyderabad racing to 65 in the first 6 six overs; with Warner making bulk of the runs – hitting 8 boundaries in the initial first 6 overs of the innings itself.

Warne made 59 off 31 balls, Tare out on a duck

The 10th over saw the end to Warne’s innings after making quick-fire 31 ball 59, smashing 7 fours and 3 sixes. Aditya Tare (plays for Mumbai in Ranji trophy), was promoted to first down but the move failed miserably as he was out on the first delivery and that too due to a silly unrequired runout – giving Kings XI the hope to fightback their way into the match.

SRH won with 13 balls to spare

Dhawan however made sure that Kings XI were never allowed to breathe easy as he along with Morgan destroyed any chances that Kings XI had of winning. Dhawan did depart after making 45 but Morgan’s 25 off 20 – not a substantially high score but good enough to give him a sense of self confidence for coming matches was well and good to guide Sunrisers Hyderabad to the finishing line. The Sunrisers Hyderabad sailed to the target with 13 balls to spare.

The miserable IPL 2016 continues for Kings XI Punjab and it’s high time that they made some major changes to their playing XI; while Sunrisers Hyderabad continues on their merry way to success.

KXIP vs SRH (IPL 2016 M 18) Playing XI

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  1. David Warner
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Moises Henriques
  4. Deepak Hooda
  5. Aditya Tare
  6. Eoin Morgan
  7. Naman Ojha
  8. Bipul Sharma
  9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  10. Barinder Sran
  11. Mustafizur Rahman
Kings XI Punjab

  1. Murali Vijay
  2. Manan Vohra
  3. Glenn Maxwell
  4. David Miller
  5. Shaun Marsh
  6. Axar Patel
  7. Nikhil Naik
  8. Rishi Dhawan
  9. Mohit Sharma
  10. Kyle Abbott
  11. Sandeep Sharma

[button color=”” size=”large” type=”” target=”” link=””]Tap Here for all IPL 2016 Match Highlights[/button]

Leave a Reply