After getting to the first place in the points table, winning their last match; Sunrisers Hyderabad were taken over by Gujarat Lions on the very same day, after beating the Kolkata Knight Riders. Hence, when Sunrisers Hyderabad took on Rising Pune Supergiants, a win almost guaranteed them a spot in the playoffs and would place them at no.1 in the points table.

The toss went to Hyderabad, both the teams remained unchanged from their last match.

Rising Pune Supergiants vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Date 10 May 2016
Venue ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium
 133/8 (20)    137/8 (20)
Sunrisers won by 4 runs

Hyderabad’s innings is best summarized as having starts but none of the batsmen going onto make a big score of 70 or 80+ which is the key to scoring over 9 to the over and perhaps reaching a total of 170 or 180, which is around par in today’s days of t20 cricket.

Hyderabad lost their in-form captain in Warner early for just 11. The innings moved forward with Dhawan and Williamson – with the latter looking really out of sorts in the match, enable to free flow and play his natural game maybe due to the ball not coming too great onto the bat.

Dhawan and Williamson made 33 and 32 respectively in 27 and 37 balls; quite clearly the rate at which they scored was quite contrary to the usual striking that we see in t20 cricket. While Dhawan got out to Ashwin, Williamson’s end came to Zampa – the young legspinner from Australia.

A 23 in 21 from Yuvraj gave fans something to cheer about but he too didn’t last long and became prey to Zamba. The big outtake from the bowling department for Pune came in form of Adam Zampa – grabbing 6 wickets for 19 runs, best figure after Sohail Tanvir’s 6 for 13.

The final score for Hyderabad was 137 which considering the spinning conditions is fine but Hyderabad did not have a full fledged spinner in their side and therefore they depended heavily on their 3 pacers in Mustafizur, Bhuvaneshwar and Nehra to make some early inroads.

Pune were hit early in the case, with the wicket of Rahane falling with 0 runs on the scoreboard; the start couldn’t have been worse because it’s been Rahane that has given some respite to Pune in the batting department playing the role of an anchor so very beautifully.

Pune found a rare partnership between Bailey and Ashwin, rare because Ashwin is not a batsman but he was promoted by Pune to bat at 2nd down. It’s interesting to note that prior to the match, Ashwin hadn’t even crossed 30 in IPL.

Bailey and Ashwin had a 49 run partnership which brought Pune back into the match after 2 early wickets (Bailey made 34 and Ashwin 29). Both of them though fell within a span of 10 runs and yet again Pune found 2 new batsmen in the middle and with the innings reaching it’s penultimate stage; Pune needed someone to come in with a BANG and get some quick runs. Tiwary sadly couldn’t do that and the last hope for Pune remained with their captain in Dhoni and Sri Lankan all rounder in Perera.

Dhoni and Perera took innings to the final over in which they required 14 off Nehra – with the kind of finishers that these two are, it wasn’t a tall ask but with Nehra bowling and the kind of pressure on Pune to win, it was going to be tough.

Dhoni’s six on the 4th delivery of the over – in his typical style clearing the long-on meant that Pune required another six runs to win in 2 deliveries.

Sadly for Pune fans, the sight on the next ball wasn’t pretty as Dhoni in an attempt to grab a double to be on the strike to face the last ball got him run out and IN CAME Zampa, requiring to make 4 for a super-over and six to get his team to victory.

Nehra bowled the delivery outside off which Zampa hit with all his power but it went back– comprehending in a brilliant diving catch from Hyderabad’s wicket keeper in Naman Ojha, who won the match for his side or else it would’ve gone straight to the boundary and we would’ve had a super-over, wasn’t to be though. Another loss for Pune.

Sunrisers Hyderabad take the 1st spot in the points table.

RPS vs SRH Squads for 10 May 2016 Match 40

Rising Pune Supergiants

MS Dhoni (C) (W), Ankit Sharma, Baba Aparajith, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murugan Ashwin, Ankush Bains, Rajat Bhatia, Scott Boland, Deepak Chahar, Ashok Dinda, Francois du Plessis, Peter Handscomb, Jaskaran Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Albie Morkel, Ishwar Pandey, Irfan Pathan, Thisara Perera, Kevin Pietersen, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh, Steve Smith, Saurabh Tiwary, Adam Zampa, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner (C), Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Trent Boult, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Eoin Morgan, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (W), Vijay Shankar, Karn Sharma, Barinder Sran, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh

SRH vs RPS Video Recap

[button color=”” size=”large” type=”” target=”” link=””%5DTap Here for all IPL 2016 Match Highlights[/button]

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply