In the first match that these two teams played against each other this season, it was the sheer class shown by the Sunriser’s captain in David Warner which seized the victory for his side – along with Shikhar Dhawan, it was the 135 runs opening stand between these two which helped Hyderabad win the match by 10 wickets and upset the table toppers in Gujarat Lions.

Gujarat Lions vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Date 06 May 2016
Venue Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
126/6 (20)   129/5 (19)
Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 5 wickets

Again when these two teams came face to face, this time Hyderabad had added advantage of playing at home. The toss too went in favor of the home side, with Warner opting to bowl. The inclusion of Yuvraj Singh was the only change they made; with Yuvraj returning from a month long injury. The Gujarat Lions made 2 changes, Bravo for Faulkner and Pradeep Sangwan for Ishan Kishan (additional bowler).

The Gujarat Lions got off to a very cautious start, in fact their slowest in IPL 2016. After the first 6 powerplay overs, Lions were in all sort of troubles at 26/3; going at less than 6 to the over and losing key wickets of Smith, Raina and Karthik. The wicket of McCullum 2 overs later threw further caution to the wind – with Lions innings in deep trouble at 39/4 – the disciplined bowling from the Hyderabad’s bowling line-up was making it immensely hard for Gujarat Lions to break-free – Mustafizur, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Praveen Kumar were hitting the right areas on a pitch that was two-paced.

A modest total of 126 at just over 6 to the over was made possible only due to the 50 from Finch – who has been in immensely consistent run of form, in spite of injuring himself and sitting on the sidelines for a few matches, he has come back well into the side, the concern remains the top-order with McCullum and Smith failing to deliver key opening stands.

Apart from Finch, 20 for Raina and 18 for Jadeja and Bravo indicates good starts but none of the other batsmen seemed to stay at the crease and go onto make a 50 perhaps, just how Finch did – only then could have the Gujarat Lions got to a par score of 150. 126/6 was the final score for the Gujarat Lions.

The Hyderabad’s chase started off on an aggressive note – courtesy to their captain in David Warner, with the score being 22/0 after 2. Praveen Kumar’s 2nd over however pulled things back and kept a break on the flow of runs.

This match belonged to Dhawan, who dictated terms in the chase – making a 47* in 40 balls but with only 127 to chase, the pace at which he formulated his innings worked aptly for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Warner whose 2nd in the orange cap list could only make 24 in 17 balls, Henriques had a good start with 14 in 16 but became victim to Bravo – Hyderabad batsmen too faced the problem of getting starts but not going on to make big runs.

The match marked the first match for Yuvraj Singh in 2016 IPL but he had a disappointing outing, making only 5 in 14 balls – some would argue his innings could have changed the match’s end result because it’s unacceptable to play 14 deliveries and score only 5 in a t20 match but thankfully for Hyderabad fans, the coming IN of Hooda at the right time; who made 18 in 12 balls pretty much sealed the match in Hyderabad’s favor.

Hyderabad now move to 4th in the points table.

SRH vs GL Squads for 06 May 2016 Match 34

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner (C), Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Trent Boult, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Eoin Morgan, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (W), Vijay Shankar, Karn Sharma, Barinder Sran, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh

Gujarat Lions

Suresh Raina (C), Akshdeep Nath, Dwayne Bravo, Paras Dogra, Eklavya Dwivedi , James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik (W), Shivil Kaushik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Sarabjit Ladda, A Mishra, Brendon McCullum, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaydev Shah, Umang Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Dale Steyn, Pravin Tambe, Andrew Tye

SRH vs GL Previous Video

[button color=”” size=”large” type=”” target=”” link=””%5DTap Here for all IPL 2016 Match Highlights[/button]

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply